Golden Boy by Clifford Odets

Nov. 9, 10, 11, 12 – 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 2017 – 8.00 PM – Weekend matinee 2.30 PM

TICKETS AVAILABLE

Directed by Aaron Latham and Graydon Gund

A VERY SPECIAL PRODUCTION

StoPD (Support and Training to Overcome Parkinson’s Disease), in collaboration with Shetler Studios and GK Arts Center, presents ‘Golden Boy’, written by Clifford Odets and directed by Aaron Latham and Graydon Gund. 
Performed at GK Arts Center, the renowned Off-Broadway house located in the heart of Dumbo, this play will entertain you and move you. Most importantly this show will be a testament to the strength of the Parkinson’s Community.

This revival of Odets masterpiece will be co-directed by Aaron Latham, journalist, playwright and author of such movies as ‘Urban Cowboy’ and ‘The Program’, and Graydon Gund, Skidmore College and Moscow Art Theater alumnus with an already impressive number of Off-Broadway and regional theater credits.

With set and costumes designed by award winning Off-Broadway and Off West-End theater designer Anna Driftmier, fight choreography by Hollywood and Broadway fight director Michael Olajide and live music performed by critically acclaimed violinist Filip Pogady, the play will feature professional actors who are living with Parkinson’s in two of the main roles. Furthermore, many of our production and creative team members have Parkinson’s and contributed their expertise to build this project from the ground up.

Alex Montaldo, co-founder of stoPD, will play the lead role of Joe Bonaparte.

All the proceeds will go to fund stoPD new programs in New York and Los Angeles.

GOLDEN BOY PLOT

The play focuses on Joe Bonaparte, whose dream of becoming a violinist could become a reality when prizefight promoter Roxy Gottlieb offer to sponsor him as a boxer. He finds himself torn between the lure of big money and the distinct possibility of injuring his hands, thereby destroying his musical career. Among those offering him advice are his Italian immigrant father, his manager Tom Moody, and Tom’s girlfriend Lorna Moon, with whom Joe falls in love.

Team:

Producers:

stoPD, Inc. (Support and Training to Overcome Parkinson’s disease) www.stop-pd.org
Ron Shetler http://www.ronshetler.com/
Gregg Prosser http://www.greggprosser.com/home/
Jon Spano https://www.jonspano.com/
Aaron Latham http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0490061/

Special Thanks:
Lesley Stahl https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lesley_Stahl
Taylor Latham Stahl http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2281897/
Bonnie Benedeck
Bruce Silverglade http://gleasonsgym.net/gym-president.html
Misha Chernov and GK Arts Center http://gkartscenter.org/

Fundraising:
Judith Helf https://www.linkedin.com/in/judith-helf-31b55231

Publicist:
Richard Kornberg/Kornberg and Associates http://www.kornbergpr.com/

Sponsors:
Gleason’s Gym http://gleasonsgym.net/index.html

Directors:
Aaron Latham https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aaron_Latham
Graydon Gund http://www.graydongund.com/

Stage Manager:
Lydia Caballero

Set Design:
Anna Driftmier http://www.annadriftmier.com/

Costume Design:
Anna Driftmier

Fight Choreography:
Michael Olajide http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1159939/

Live Music performed by:
Filip Pogady http://pogady.com/index.html

Cast:
Alex Montaldo – Joe Bonaparte www.alexmontaldo.com
Ron Shetler – Mr. Bonaparte www.ronshetler.com
Gregg Prosser – Tom Moody www.greggprosser.com
Lorna Moon – Kathleen Simmonds www.kathleensimmonds.com/
Tokyo – Jon Spano
Mr. Carp – David Cohen
Frank Bonaparte – (TBA)
Anna Bonaparte – Mia Christo
Siggie – Fady Gerko
Roxy Gottlieb – (TBA)
Eddie Fuselli – (TBA)
Jeffrey Alkins – Pepper White
Special appearances
Professional boxer John Duddy as Micky https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Duddy
Professional boxer Michael Stoute as Chocolate Drop http://starboxing.com/boxers/michael-stoute/

Ensemble
Miah Kane
Montgomery Mauro

29 Jay Street, DUMBO Brooklyn
close to F and A/C trains
20160722-boxing-64-2120-1-bwsmall

Boxing smaller cropped

gb17

gb42

gb47

Golden Boy2017

Gregg Prosser as Tom Moody